Green Savory Scones for a BROWN and GRAY Day

I spent a couple hours out in the gardens this morning cutting back some of the junk that should have been removed last fall, but as I was away – it got done today. There are a few little greens starting to pop up here and there…mint, lupine and of course, CREEPING CHARLIE! But, overall, the landscape out here in the Driftless Area is mostly brown. So, why not green up the kitchen a bit?

I had some cilantro and fennel left over from the Socca I made last Sunday that needed to get used up, so the idea to make a savory scone came to mind. I haven’t made scones in forever and now I can’t for the life of me remember why not? They are so DURNED TOOTIN’ easy. All in, I invested no more than twenty minutes of my time – including clean up – to get these puppies in and out of the oven.

I’m going to tell you my SPEED trick – mostly so I don’t forget it myself! Haul out the food processor. Zing up all the wet stuff. In another bowl mix the dry stuff. Then combine, shape into a disc, cut into eight triangles and bake. WOW SO FAST! In the 15 minutes they baked, I had the kitchen all back to tidy with time enough to chat with a FB friend in between!

Savory Herb Scones preheat oven 400 degrees

DRY INGREDIENTS:

  • 1¾ cups sprouted wheat flour
  • ½ tbsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt

WET INGREDIENTS:

  • Handful (Maybe a big cup) cilantro, stems and all
  • Handful (Again, a cup or so) fennel frond mostly
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1/2 jalapeno

PULSE THE HERBS and VEGGIES BEFORE ADDING NEXT INGREDIENTS

  • ¼ cup coconut oil (chilled)
  • ¾ cup Soymilk or Almond Milk

DIRECTIONS: Add your wet ingredients to the dry, mix until just combined. Depending on moisture in your herbs and veg, you may need to add a bit more flour, but try to leave the dough a bit sticky and DO NOT OVERWORK it.

Put a little flour onto the counter, form the dough into a disk. Cut into eight sections and put those on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, or not.

To MAKE THEM REALLY CUTE – Spray a bit of olive oil on the top of each scone, then sprinkle each with thyme, flaky salt and fresh-ground pepper.

Bake for 15 minutes until they are golden brown – bottoms will show more browning than tops. Just try to not eat them all in the first 15 minutes that they come out of the oven!

2 thoughts on “Green Savory Scones for a BROWN and GRAY Day

  1. So true – maybe I should rethink moving it out of the gardens – does it act as mulch as well? My woodchips are worthless out here in the country!

Leave a comment